Cinema Psycho

"You know what? You have a losing personality." – Manhattan

“There’s a sucker born every minute.” – P.T. Barnum

Posted by CinemaPsycho on November 5, 2004

“America has spoken – and I won’t imitate its voice at the risk of offending the mentally retarded.” – Lewis Black

Sigh…the last thing I want is to turn this into a political-rant site. This is a site primarily about movies, and I think it should stay that way. There are plenty of places on the Internet where you can find political commentary written by people more intelligent and informed than I. And if I start writing about this, if I start saying everything I want to say, I’m going to write pages and pages of stuff that no one wants to read at this point. Right now, it just doesn’t seem worth it.

So I’ll just say this: I live in a so-called “red state”, the one that half the country is pretty pissed at right now. Yet John Kerry got the most votes in the economically depressed county I live in. I’m proud to say that I voted for Kerry and I encouraged everyone I know (here and elsewhere) to do so. It wasn’t a wasted effort as far as I’m concerned. I did what I was supposed to do. I voiced my opinion, I said my piece. And I’ve been paying attention for the last 4 years. I didn’t just jump on the bandwagon with Michael Moore, Al Franken and Janeane Garofalo. I feel that I know as much about what’s going on as the average person. I didn’t ignore the facts just to follow a misguided agenda.

I strongly believe that a vote for George W. Bush is a vote for 4 more years of war, lies, greed and corruption. I know a LOT of people who feel the same way – people who have never seen Fahrenheit 9/11, never heard Air America and don’t pay attention to what Hollywood celebrities say in the press. They believe this because they watch the news, they read the papers and they pay attention to what’s happening.

And yet I’m not surprised by the election results. Disappointed, yes, but not surprised. The Republicans ran a campaign based on ignorance and fear, and guess what – it worked. I’d have to be awfully naïve to claim to be shocked by this.

But let’s not be fooled into thinking that Bush won over the country. 51 percent of the population is far from a landslide. America is still divided, as we have been for years. All the numbers prove is that more Republicans showed up at the polls. The one good thing about fanatics is that they know how to mobilize their forces. Forget what the media is trying to jam down your throats – they won because they played dirty, and they know how to do it. There are just as many liberals in America as there were on Nov. 1.

John Kerry didn’t lose on Election Day. America lost.

Maybe in 2008, when the war in Iraq is still going, the economy is still in the toilet, many more thousands have lost their jobs, and virtually no social progress has been made in this country, people will finally decide that they’re fed up. Until then, the rest of us will just have to shake our heads in wonder and hope we don’t have another national tragedy because the administration refused to act on the warning signs.

On a lighter note, I finally got my first batch of reviews up (look…over there on the left!) and you can expect more in the weeks ahead. I’ll be doing theatrical releases as well as current DVD releases (thank you Netflix!). I’m still working on ironing out the kinks on the site, but you can expect an update at least once a week. I hope those of you who have found your way here will keep coming back, and I sincerely hope you’re having as much fun reading it as I am writing it.

I haven’t decided whether or not to see Alfie this weekend. I really like the original 1966 film, but the remake kind of disturbs me. A large part of the charm of the original was that Alfie was just an “average bloke” who managed to have developed an extraordinary way with women, despite that fact that he looked like…well, Michael Caine. I look at the remake and it’s like, “well, OF COURSE he’s getting laid all over the place…it’s JUDE LAW for christ’s sake!” If they really wanted to evoke the spirit of the original, they should have cast someone more rough and unrefined, like Jason Statham or any one of those guys from Guy Ritchie’s films. And at the risk of sounding politically incorrect (god forbid, right?) I never understood what’s so bad about being a “womanizer” in the first place. Every guy I know wants to be a womanizer! All that really means is that a guy’s getting laid on a regular basis by more than one woman, right? So what’s so horrible about that, really? (Leaving aside the whole AIDS thing…I assume they mention that in the movie, they almost HAVE to) It’s not like the man’s raping anybody. He’s doing what every single guy wants to do – he just happens to have the gift of persuasion that most of us don’t. In the old days (before I was born) they used to call that ‘a healthy sex life”. Not that I’m anything like either Alfie or ever will be…it just doesn’t seem like such an awful life to me. And didn’t About a Boy cover this territory pretty well not long ago? I don’t know…I just don’t want to sit in the audience with a bunch of shrieking Jude Law fans.

I know, everyone will be at The Incredibles this weekend. Eh. I’ll wait a couple of
weeks and avoid the crowds. I think I’ll live.

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

 
